IPA’s

Posted: October 16, 2010 in Flavor Series, IPA

Let’s start this series with my least favorite, however one of the most popular sellers world wide. IPA or India pale ale. IPA was first brewed in Great Britain in the 18th century for export to India, hence the name. Its light amber to copper to color and usually 5-6.5% alcohol by volume. This brew is known for being the bitterest of beers, containing no less the 50-60 IBU’s (International Bitterness Units). IPA’s are generally known for their bite, as I said I am not a big fan of IPA’s, but both Jess (my wife) and my father really enjoy them. As a result I can make a few suggestions on them. If you’re looking for a strong (and I do mean strong) IPA, Dogfish Head’s “90 minute IPA” is for you, it’s incredibly bitter and contains, over 90 IBU’s, it’s has 9.0% ABV so watch out! If you’re looking for something a little less bitter they also brew a “60 minute IPA” which contains 60IBU’s and is only 6.0% ABV so you can have more than one and still get out of your chair. These are Jess’s favorites as well, so from time to time they do appear in my fridge. Another suggestion I can make is Harpoon’s IPA, I have had the pleasure of tasting this beer at this Brewery in Windsor VT and if I am going to drink an IPA this one’s it. Weighing in at 5.9%ABV with only 42 IBUS it’s not as bitter as many IPA’s which is probably why I enjoy it.
Have a great Saturday everyone, enjoy some great beer.
Cheers

Comments
  1. I.P.A.’s are my favorite style. I enjoy Dogfish but I think Stone does the best job. Bell’s and Three Floyds are also worth mention.

  2. Jess says:

    Did you know that Dogfish also makes a 120 min IPA? I haven’t tried it but would love to! Just a taste would be ideal because it’s 18% ABV (and 120 IBU’s). I just realized where the numbers (60, 90 and 120) come from…the IBU’s, right?

Leave a Reply

